Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Research Database Descriptions

Print Friendly
Database Title & Description
Academic Search Premier – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Academic Search Premier from the database listings. Your library card number may be required.


Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,144 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Academic Search Premier is an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources unique to this database.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Academic / Scholarly Research, General Research.

Biography Collection Complete – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Biography Collection Complete from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Biography Collection Complete offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Biographical Research, General Research.

Business Source Elite – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Business Source Elite from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Business Source Elite provides full text coverage for nearly 1,100 business publications and economics journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,750 journals. Business Source Elite contains full text from the world’s top management and marketing journals including Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, MIT Sloan Management Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Business Research, Economic Research, Market Research.

Business Source Premier – Click the Business Search Interface icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required.


Business Source Premier, is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world’s top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world’s 10,000 largest companies.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Business Research, Economic Research, Market Research.

EBSCOhost Espanol, EBSCOhost Deutsch,& EBSCOhost Francais - Click the EBSCOhost Spanish, Dutch, or French link next to the icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required.


Most of EBSCO’s major database services for Spanish, Dutch, and French speaking peoples.For Spanish, Dutch, or French speaking peoples.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Foreign Language Research.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select ERIC from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Educational Research.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

GreenFILE GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records
Health Source: Consumer Edition – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Health Source: Consumer Edition from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide. This resource provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men’s Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People’s Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to 1,300 drug monograph entries and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Healthcare Research, Nursing Research, Medical Research.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Healthcare Research, Nursing Research, Medical Research.

History Reference Center Database - Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select History Reference Center from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


History Reference Center is the world’s most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books. The database also includes full text for more than 120 leading history periodicals including America’s Civil War, American Heritage, American Historical Review, American History, Archaeology, Aviation History, Beaver, British Heritage, Chinese America: History & Perspectives, Civil War Times, Foreign Affairs, German History, History, History Review, History Today (back to January 1975), History: Review of New Books, Kansas History, Journal of American History, Manitoba History, Military History, Naval History, North Carolina Historical Review, Virginia Magazine of History & Biography, Wild West, World War II and more. Further, the database contains more than 59,600 historical documents; more than 49,600 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, History Research.

Kids Search- Click the Kids Search Interface icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type – -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. Databases searched through the Kids Search interface include: Middle Search Plus, Primary Search Science Reference Center, History Reference Center, TOPICsearch, Newspaper Source, and Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia.
Recommended for: Kids, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts - Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select LITA, Library Information Science & TEchnology Abstracts from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Teachers, Librarians, Library Research.

Literary Reference Center- Click the Literary Reference Center icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a comprehensive database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Teachers, Librarians, Literary Research.

MasterFILE Premier – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select MasterFILE Premier from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


MasterFILE Premier, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts; full text from 84,774 biographies, 100,554 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

Middle Search Plus – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Middle Search Plus from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Middle Search Plus contains full text for 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia and American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Adults, Teachers, Librarians.

Newspaper Source – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Newspaper Source from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Teachers, Librarians, Newspaper Research.

NoveList Plus- Click the Novelist database icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We’re Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Book Lovers, Literary Research.

NoveList K-8 Plus - Click the Novelist K-8 icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required.


NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Teachers, Librarians, Literary Research.

Points of View Reference Center- Click the Points of View icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


The Points of View Reference Center is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Debates and Debating, Pro/Con Research.

Primary Search 
- Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Primary Search from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for nearly 70 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 100 magazines. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys’ Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 235,186 photos, maps and flags.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

Professional Development Collection  – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Professional Development Collection from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others.
Recommended for: Adults, College Students, Teachers, Educators, Librarians, Educational Research.

Regional Business News  – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Regional Business News from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain’s New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Graduate Students, Teachers, Librarians, Business Research.

Salud en Espanol (CHC Spanish Version) - Click the Points of View icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


Salud proporciona la información y la investigación de la salud para la gente de habla hispana. (Salud provides health information and research for Spanish speaking peoples.)For Spanish speaking peoples, Health Research
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, Spanish speaking people.

Science Reference Center – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select Science Reference Center from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Designed to meet every student’s science research needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students , Teachers, Librarians, Scientific Research, Medical Research.

Searchasaurus Database Interface - Click the Points of View icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required.


Seachasaurus makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results.” The database includes a dictionary and encyclopedia, and a way to search for images. It’s a great resource for school projects and homework assignments. (There’s also a search section for teachers.) Databases for students through this interface include: The American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and the Image Collection Database. Databases for teachers through this interface include:Academic Search Premier, ERIC – Educational Resource Information Center, and Professional Development Collection.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

Student Research Center - Click the Points of View icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page. Your library card number may be required. 


EBSCO’s Student Research Center (SRC) makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type – -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. Databases searched through the SRC interface include: Science Reference Center, History Reference Center, Biography Collection Complete, Columbia Encyclopedia, MAS Ultra – School Edition, Health Source – Consumer Edition, TOPICsearch, Newspaper Source, and Middle Search Plus.
Recommended for: Kids, Teens, Teachers, Librarians, General Research.

TOPICsearch – Click the EBSCOHost Web icon on the EBSCOhost main Database Service Selection page, then select TOPICsearch from the database listing. Your library card number may be required.


This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 139,800 articles from 4,800 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers. Topics covered include: Aging, AIDS, Alcohol, Computers, Crime, Drugs, Education, Energy, Ethics, Family, Health, Human Rights, Multiculturalism, National Debate, People, Religion, Sports, Women, Work, World Affairs, etc.
Recommended for: Teens, Adults, College Students, Teachers, Librarians, Sociology, General Research.